Trump’s Advisory Board appointed IBM & Apple CEO ensuring AI not to eliminate jobs


    The U.S. Department of Commerce announced on Wednesday that two of the prominent tech leaders will also be the part of President Trump’s advisory board and will take part in process of making policy for the future of workforce.

    Including Tim Cook, CEO of Apple and Ginni Rometty, CEO of IBM, department has appointed 25 members for American Workforce Policy Advisory Board.

    The advisory board will be responsible to development and implementation of the strategy for American workforce to better equip them to meet the challenges of the 21st century, according to the announcement.

    Wilbur Ross, Secretary of Commerce and Ivanka Trump, daughter and advisor to the President, will jointly chair the board.

    In the time when automation in the technology has been growing at a rapid pace and demand of high-tech skills is also increasing as artificial intelligence is rising on its potential to substitute more of the humans, the government has taken an initiative to help the workers to develop skills to fill the gap that is widening in the economy of the modern day, and the formation of advisory board is also a part of that initiative of the government.

    To meet the pace of advancing technology by narrowing the difference between current capabilities and required level, board has been assigned with several tasks including its member to drive a national campaign for promotion of training and education, highlight ways to gather data more relevant to targeted labor market and form strategies which will encourage private sector to invest in education needed to enhance the skill up to desired levels.

    National Council for the American Worker was established by the President through an executive order, and that will be used to implement the strategies developed by the advisory board, in which leaders in retail, education and government have also been included as members.


    Full list of board member is as follows:


    Jay Box, President, Kentucky Community and Technical College System

    Walter Bumphus, President & CEO, American Association of Community Colleges

    Jim Clark, President & CEO, Boys & Girls Clubs of America

    Tim Cook, CEO, Apple

    Tom Donohue, CEO, U.S. Chamber of Commerce

    Juanita Duggan, President & CEO, National Federation for Independent Business

    Elizabeth Goettl, President & CEO, Cristo Rey Network

    Marillyn Hewson, Chairman, President, & CEO, Lockheed Martin

    Eric Holcomb, Governor, Indiana

    Barbara Humpton, CEO, Siemens USA

    Al Kelly, CEO, Visa

    Vi Lyles, Mayor, Charlotte, North Carolina

    Bill McDermott, CEO, SAP America

    Sean McGarvey, President, North America’s Building and Trades Unions

    Doug McMillon, President & CEO, Walmart

    Craig Menear, Chairman, President, & CEO, Home Depot

    Michael Piwowar, Executive Director, Milken Institute

    Scott Pulsipher, President, Western Governors University

    Kim Reynolds, Governor, Iowa

    Ginni Rometty, Chairman, President, & CEO, IBM

    Scott Sanders, Executive Director, National Association of State Workforce Agencies

    Johnny C. Taylor, Jr., President & CEO, Society for Human Resource Management

    Jay Timmons, President & CEO, National Association of Manufacturers

    Sheree Utash, President, WSU Tech

    Marianne Wanamaker, Professor, University of Tennessee